Pakistan will host the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025

3 min read

At its headquarters in Dubai on Friday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) signed an agreement with the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the hosting rights of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025.

PCB Management Committee Chairman Zaka Ashraf attended the signing of the hosting rights to Pakistan at the headquarters of the International Cricket Council (ICC) along with General Counsel Jonathan Hall, according to a statement issued by the cricket board.

As part of the preparations for the Champions Trophy, the PCB has already informed the government that robust security measures will be required for visiting international teams.

It was announced recently that the caretaker prime minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar, in a recent meeting with the chairman of the PCB Management Committee, assured cooperation from the security agencies so that the ICC Champions Trophy could be successfully hosted in 2025.

This will mark the return of the ICC Champions Trophy after an eight-year gap since the last time it took place in 2017. Test-playing nations such as Sri Lanka and the West Indies did not have the chance to compete in this global event. Sri Lanka failed to secure a position in the top eight in the list of points for the ICC World Cup 2023.

As part of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025, a total of eight teams will be participating, and they will follow the format of One Day Internationals (ODIs). For the qualification process, the top seven teams from the ICC ODI World Cup group stage, along with the host nation, Pakistan, securing their positions for this upcoming tournament have been taken into the consideration.

It has been confirmed that the following teams will participate in the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025:

Pakistan (host), India, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan, South Africa, England, Bangladesh, and Australia in the field

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours