Against Pakistan, Marsh and Warner score highest partnership

4 min read

Against Pakistan, Marsh and Warner score highest partnership. In the second match of the World Cup on Friday, the Australian opening pair of Mitchell Marsh and David Warner took the Pakistani bowlers to the cleaners by making the highest partnership against the Green Shirts of all time.

As a result of their phenomenal partnership – during the match being played at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium – the pair smashed a remarkable 259-run partnership, besting the previous 175-run World Cup stand between West Indies’ Brian Lara and Desmond Haynes back in 1992.

There is no doubt that this is a historic moment in the history of the World Cup since no team has ever scored 200 runs against the Men in Green in a World Cup game before.

As the Kangaroos batted first in the World Cup 2023 match being played in M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, they went on a rampage against Pakistani bowlers scoring centuries as their openers scored centuries before being dismissed by one of them.

Due to Pakistan’s late wickets in the match, the Australians are looking at setting a big target for themselves.

In his first innings, Marsh scored 121 off 108 balls before he was dismissed by Shaheen Shah Afridi. The pacer also accounted for Glenn Maxwell, who was dismissed for a duck by the pacer. The wicket of Steven Smith (7) was taken by Usama Mir later on in the innings.

At the same time, Warner became the batter to score the most runs against Pakistan in the history of the World Cup. There were nine sixes and 14 fours scored by the left-handed batter out of 124 balls, giving him a score of 163.

Earlier in 2003, Australia’s Andrew Symonds had scored 143 against Pakistan in the mega event at which Warner played.

In the competition so far, the Babar Azam-led team has managed to win two out of three matches played, whereas Pat Cummins’ team has only been able to claim one win out of its three matches so far.

The playing XI of the World Cup

In the Pakistan team, Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf all played for their country.

The Australian team consists of David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (captain), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, and Aaron Finch.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours